7 Most VSAQ’s of State Government Chapter in Inter 2nd Year Political Science (TS/AP)

2 Marks

VSAQ-1 : State Executive.

The State Executive consists of the Governor, the Chief Minister, and the State Council of Ministers. The Chief Minister, as the head of the State Executive, leads the administration with the assistance of various administrative personnel. The Governor, on the advice of the Chief Minister, appoints the ministers who form the State Council of Ministers. These officials together carry out the administrative duties at the state level, as detailed in Articles 153 to 167 of the Indian Constitution. This arrangement is a crucial component of India’s federal system of governance.

VSAQ-2 : Any two legislative powers of the Governor.

The Governor exercises several legislative powers in a state, including:

  1. Convening, adjourning, and dissolving the two houses of the State Legislature.
  2. The nomination of an Anglo-Indian member to the State Legislative Assembly if there is no representation from that community.
  3. The appointment of the pro-tem speaker of the State Legislative Assembly.

VSAQ-3 : Discretionary powers of the Governor.

The Governor possesses several discretionary powers, including the authority to:

  1. Dismiss the ministry.
  2. Select the chief minister.
  3. Dissolve the legislative assembly.
  4. Seek information from the chief minister on administrative and legislative matters.
  5. Advise the president on the imposition of President’s Rule in the state.

VSAQ-4 : Appointment of the Chief Minister.

The appointment of the Chief Minister is governed by Article 164 of the Indian Constitution. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister based on the results of general elections. Typically, the leader of the majority party in the state legislative assembly is chosen as the Chief Minister, and their tenure is usually five years.

VSAQ-5 : Assembly Speaker.

In the Legislative Assembly, there is a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker. Their roles and functions are similar to those of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. The Speaker is elected by the members of the assembly and presides over its sessions. In the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker takes charge of the assembly proceedings.

VSAQ-6 : Legislative Assembly.

The Legislative Assembly is the lower house of the state legislature, consisting of directly elected representatives from different constituencies. It plays a crucial role in decision-making, as it is responsible for proposing, debating, and passing state laws. The typical tenure of the Legislative Assembly is five years, unless dissolved earlier.

VSAQ-7 : Legislative Council.

The Legislative Council serves as the upper house of the state legislature in specific Indian states, functioning as a permanent body with members having staggered terms. Presently, only six states have a Legislative Council. The number of members in the Legislative Council can vary, with a minimum of 40 and a maximum of one-third of the total membership of the corresponding State Legislative Assembly.