6 Most VSAQ’s of India and the World Chapter in Inter 2nd Year Political Science (TS/AP)

2 Marks

VSAQ-1 : How many countries took membership in the U.N. General Assembly?

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), a vital legislative body within the United Nations Organization, currently comprises 193 member countries. Each of these member states holds a seat in the UNGA, facilitating discussions and coordination on global issues.

VSAQ-2 : List the main organs of UNO.

The United Nations Organization (UNO) consists of six main organs

  1. General Assembly: Where all member states engage in discussions and coordination on global issues.
  2. Security Council: Responsible for maintaining international peace and security.
  3. Economic and Social Council: Coordinates the economic, social, and related work of the UN.
  4. Trusteeship Council: Although currently inactive, it was originally established to supervise the administration of Trust Territories.
  5. International Court of Justice: The primary judicial organ of the UN.
  6. Secretariat: Administers policies and programs, conducting the day-to-day work of the UN.

VSAQ-3 : Who is present Secretary General of U.N.O?

The present Secretary-General of the United Nations Organization (UNO) is Antonio Guterres. He assumed office on January 1, 2017, following his appointment by the UN General Assembly. The Secretary-General plays a crucial role in coordinating the UN’s activities across various countries and global issues.

VSAQ-4 : What is Panchsheel?

Panchasheel, also known as the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence, is a set of international relations principles introduced on May 29, 1954, by India and China. These principles, which have become a cornerstone of Indian Foreign Policy, are globally recognized and represent India’s significant contribution to international relations.

VSAQ-5 : Who are the members in BRICS?

The BRICS group consists of five member countries, which are:

  1. Brazil: A prominent and influential country in South America.
  2. Russia: A significant power in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia.
  3. India: A major economy and one of the most populous countries in South Asia.
  4. China: A global economic powerhouse located in East Asia.
  5. South Africa: The largest economy in Africa.

VSAQ-6 : What is BIMSTEC?

BIMSTEC, which stands for Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation, is a regional organization comprising seven member states around the Bay of Bengal. These member states include Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. BIMSTEC aims to promote cooperation and connectivity in various sectors such as trade, investment, technology, and energy among its member countries in the Bay of Bengal region.